The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 17, 2019, 10:43:33 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General UQM Discussion (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Why does noone mod SC3?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Why does noone mod SC3?  (Read 1359 times)
ziper1221
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 124



View Profile
Why does noone mod SC3?
« on: June 24, 2010, 09:03:02 pm »

Game engine wise sc3 has a much more advanced system. So why has noone simply change the hated puppets and drab colours for a potentially great game?
Logged

Alvarin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 795



View Profile
Re: Why does noone mod SC3?
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2010, 09:20:03 pm »

I believe it's due to two things - first and most important - license.
Second - with the amount of work required, it'll be easier to start from scratch than to edit someone else's work.
Logged
Draxas
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1044



View Profile
Re: Why does noone mod SC3?
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2010, 12:05:33 am »

To say nothing of the fact that it's so mediocre to begin with, and so many of the mechanics are disliked, that it never had much of a chance of attracting a modding community.
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Why does noone mod SC3?
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2010, 02:03:37 pm »

Lack of interest combined with the fact that the SC3 code is pretty hostile toward modding (both technically and legally) means that no one really knows how to mod SC3 effectively. For example, the last I've heard was that the sound format used for the voices is unknown.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Death 999
Global Moderator
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3830


We did. You did. Yes we can. No.


View Profile
Re: Why does noone mod SC3?
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2010, 05:31:50 pm »

Also, the hardcoded rules are intrinsically limiting. Hyperspace bubble transport to arbitrary locations, all of which you initially have available, without natural clusters being present, just isn't that interesting. It's a stab in the dark each time, unless you know where to go already. Then you'd just jump to where you need to go and not worry about anything along the way.

If there was a limited sensor radius, that'd be kind of interesting. Your field of options would gradually expand.
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Why does noone mod SC3?
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2010, 10:29:36 am »

Hyperspace bubble transport to arbitrary locations, all of which you initially have available, without natural clusters being present, just isn't that interesting.
It's worse. Some plot-relevant locations are simply not available until you get the right plot coupon.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Death 999
Global Moderator
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3830


We did. You did. Yes we can. No.


View Profile
Re: Why does noone mod SC3?
« Reply #6 on: June 30, 2010, 06:52:03 pm »

Well, yeah. But if that were incorporated into a core exploration mechanic, it'd be tolerable.
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!