The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 11, 2022, 08:35:01 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Technical Issues (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Cannot open UQM anymore.
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Cannot open UQM anymore.  (Read 1984 times)
Yuri_Armstrong
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


Good friends with the Orz.... I think.


View Profile
Cannot open UQM anymore.
« on: June 13, 2010, 06:55:10 pm »

Sorry to bother everyone for my first post, but I've been having an issue that happens when I open UQM.



After this, it shuts down. I've reinstalled the program several times now, and it keeps happening. I think what happened is I changed up the audio options and the video options the last time I played before this happened. Something to do with changing from direct3D to openGL. Whatever the case, it will no longer open no matter what I do.


Thank you for your assistance,
Armstrong
Logged


Ok, here's the thing. Don't seek medical attention from the Umgah. I woke up with tentacles coming out of my back. Don't get me wrong, I like them, It's just it could have been so much worse.
Gekko
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 199


Arena regular


View Profile
Re: Cannot open UQM anymore.
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2010, 07:00:35 pm »

I don't know that much about the code, but that error says OpenAL (audio) failed to initialize. Have you tried reinstalling your sound card/chipset drivers? Never seen that error before myself.
Logged

Visit #uqm-arena and play a game of Net Melee!
Try the Net Melee Improvement mod
Alvarin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 795



View Profile
Re: Cannot open UQM anymore.
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2010, 07:04:39 pm »

As it says, try to run it without sound and if it starts - change the sound option to something that works.

Good luck!
Logged
Yuri_Armstrong
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


Good friends with the Orz.... I think.


View Profile
Re: Cannot open UQM anymore.
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2010, 07:06:33 pm »

Heh... How do I run it without sound?
Logged


Ok, here's the thing. Don't seek medical attention from the Umgah. I woke up with tentacles coming out of my back. Don't get me wrong, I like them, It's just it could have been so much worse.
Alvarin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 795



View Profile
Re: Cannot open UQM anymore.
« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2010, 07:18:23 pm »

In the shortcut instead of command "UQM", write "UQM --sound=none"
Logged
Yuri_Armstrong
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


Good friends with the Orz.... I think.


View Profile
Re: Cannot open UQM anymore.
« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2010, 07:30:02 pm »

I don't have a command, instead I have a target for "C:\Program Files (x86)\The Ur-Quan Masters\uqm.exe"

...Still having that error. I can't find where it says "run sound --none"
« Last Edit: June 13, 2010, 08:19:04 pm by Yuri_Armstrong » Logged


Ok, here's the thing. Don't seek medical attention from the Umgah. I woke up with tentacles coming out of my back. Don't get me wrong, I like them, It's just it could have been so much worse.
Gekko
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 199


Arena regular


View Profile
Re: Cannot open UQM anymore.
« Reply #6 on: June 13, 2010, 09:56:20 pm »

"C:\Program Files (x86)\The Ur-Quan Masters\uqm.exe"

Change into

"C:\Program Files (x86)\The Ur-Quan Masters\uqm.exe" --sound=none
Logged

Visit #uqm-arena and play a game of Net Melee!
Try the Net Melee Improvement mod
Yuri_Armstrong
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


Good friends with the Orz.... I think.


View Profile
Re: Cannot open UQM anymore.
« Reply #7 on: June 16, 2010, 06:15:31 am »

Ok, here's the thing. I managed to fix the problem(yay!) by installing a mod and running UQM from the game from the mod's .exe file; this allowed me to change settings from within the game, and then load the game up from the normal .exe file. Of course I could have probably just ran =sound--none, I was able to figure out that the difference in windows 7 and windows xp causes an error when the game's sound driver is changed to OpenAL.

Just a heads up to people who use windows 7: don't use OpenAL, the game will crash.
Logged


Ok, here's the thing. Don't seek medical attention from the Umgah. I woke up with tentacles coming out of my back. Don't get me wrong, I like them, It's just it could have been so much worse.
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!