The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 28, 2020, 04:31:07 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General UQM Discussion (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  SC2 original PC version
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: SC2 original PC version  (Read 2045 times)
Wolframm
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 83



View Profile
SC2 original PC version
« on: November 07, 2010, 08:30:13 pm »

I've recently downloaded original PC version of SC2 from some wierd site, but I think I was lucky to find this rarity.
 I use DOSbox to run it. It's really cool. sound quality sucks but nevertheless.
It looks better to play the game in 16:10 widescreen (320x200) format as it was default in PC version and there are those text lines wich are missing in 3DO version and UQM.
 It sucks to know that PC source code is lost, it would be so useful to have it  Embarrassed Embarrassed
Then we would be able to make widescreen version of UQM without any text lines missing.
Logged
ziper1221
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 124



View Profile
Re: SC2 original PC version
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2010, 09:06:19 pm »

Any reason it cant be run through a Decompiler?
Logged

Dragon
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 86



View Profile
Re: SC2 original PC version
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2010, 01:31:23 pm »

Any reason it cant be run through a Decompiler?
The short answer is because a generic C decompiler doesn't exist.  The longer answer is that one would have to take the existing machine code possibly convert it to assembly instructions and then convert it to C.  Unless you have debug information for that executable the best a decompiler can do is give you C-that-looks-like-assembly.  If the executable was hit by any sort of optimising compiler then any of the original program structure will have been lost and the decompiled code would be an unreadable mess.  It's not a solvable problem.

I use DOSbox to run it. It's really cool. sound quality sucks but nevertheless.
I happened to have been playing SC2 in DOSBox (0.73) last night and the sound was fine.  Try turning up the CPU cycles, that might help.  Beyond that I have no suggestions.
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: SC2 original PC version
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2010, 01:37:00 pm »

It looks better to play the game in 16:10 widescreen (320x200) format as it was default in PC version and there are those text lines wich are missing in 3DO version and UQM.
Actually, 320x200 on CGA, EGA and VGA is still a 4:3 resolution; the pixels are 20 % higher than they are wide. Square pixels weren't really standard on PCs before VGA, and even then that only applies to the high-resolution 640x480 mode. If you're showing it as 16:10, you're distorting the picture aspect ratio.

Adding the missing text to UQM has been debated several times and could easily be done if you leave out the speech. There is actually a well-received attempt at reconstructing the missing speech.

I happened to have been playing SC2 in DOSBox (0.73) last night and the sound was fine.  Try turning up the CPU cycles, that might help. 
Try using GUS sound instead of Sound Blaster. The Sound Blaster output uses an ancient software mixing routine that sounds pretty horrible at best (because it has to run on a 286 and inside the emulator), while Gravis Ultrasound sound is mixed in the hardware (which DOSBox emulates using its own mixing code running on the much faster physical hardware.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
unity100
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9



View Profile
Re: SC2 original PC version
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2010, 01:10:51 pm »

I've recently downloaded original PC version of SC2 from some wierd site, but I think I was lucky to find this rarity.
 I use DOSbox to run it. It's really cool. sound quality sucks but nevertheless.
It looks better to play the game in 16:10 widescreen (320x200) format as it was default in PC version and there are those text lines wich are missing in 3DO version and UQM.
 It sucks to know that PC source code is lost, it would be so useful to have it  Embarrassed Embarrassed
Then we would be able to make widescreen version of UQM without any text lines missing.

sound quality sucks ?!!?!?

pc version has the best sound with high speed interrupt mod music. even with default pc speaker it can blast.

you need to play with sound settings on your dosbox.
Logged
storyyeller
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 101



View Profile
Re: SC2 original PC version
« Reply #5 on: November 12, 2010, 04:30:40 pm »

^^ So why isn't there a no speech version with the missing lines available? I don't like the voice acting anyway.
Logged
unity100
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9



View Profile
Re: SC2 original PC version
« Reply #6 on: November 12, 2010, 09:21:50 pm »

there is ?

you need to set the uqm config to 'pc' settings, instead of 3do. there is all the info you need to make it fully synced with pc version.
Logged
onpon4
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 709


Sharing is good.


View Profile WWW
Re: SC2 original PC version
« Reply #7 on: November 12, 2010, 10:34:50 pm »

there is ?

you need to set the uqm config to 'pc' settings, instead of 3do. there is all the info you need to make it fully synced with pc version.

I don't quite get what you're saying here. The guy above you was asking why the missing dialogue hasn't been added  back into UQM (which it hasn't).
Logged

Wolframm
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 83



View Profile
Re: SC2 original PC version
« Reply #8 on: November 12, 2010, 11:25:42 pm »

Well, the UQM Extended Edition mod has some changed dialogues but I don't know the details.
Might be that those missing dialogues are restored in Extended Edition... or no?
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: SC2 original PC version
« Reply #9 on: November 13, 2010, 09:40:13 am »

Might be that those missing dialogues are restored in Extended Edition... or no?
According to its changelog, the Extended Edition adds dialogue for the Mycon Sun Device subplot.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Wolframm
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 83



View Profile
Re: SC2 original PC version
« Reply #10 on: November 13, 2010, 10:14:47 am »

Actually, 320x200 on CGA, EGA and VGA is still a 4:3 resolution; the pixels are 20 % higher than they are wide. Square pixels weren't really standard on PCs before VGA, and even then that only applies to the high-resolution 640x480 mode. If you're showing it as 16:10, you're distorting the picture aspect ratio.

That's wierd... I play on widescreen monitor (16:10) and the picture ISN'T distorted. There aren't black bars on edges of the screen niether, it fits it perfectly to 16:10.
Planets are perfect spheres/circles so I found hard to believe in existance of any stretching here. (I use double buffering and hq3x scaler if that matters)
And if you say those aren't square pixels...  Huh That makes me puzzled.
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: SC2 original PC version
« Reply #11 on: November 16, 2010, 08:51:38 am »

And if you say those aren't square pixels...  Huh That makes me puzzled.
It's entirely possible that the artists assumed the pixels are square when they did some of the artwork (this depends on what they were doing their drawing, scanning or whatever with). In that case, the graphics would be distorted on a 4:3 display, but accidentally come out exactly right on a 16:10 display. Quickly checking the screenshots on Mobygames for DOS SC2 suggests that e.g. the rotating planets in the lander view and the HyperSpace map are definitely corrected for a 5:6 pixel aspect ratio, but some of the other planet graphics seem to use a 1:1 ratio.

Either way, my point is that there was essentially no widescreen support at the time on PC hardware, so 320x200 should have been displayed as 4:3. For example, Doom is clearly designed for 320x200 at 4:3.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!