The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 07, 2022, 11:21:56 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General UQM Discussion (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  UQM ported to Android
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 Print
Author Topic: UQM ported to Android  (Read 15115 times)
pelya
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 40



View Profile
UQM ported to Android
« on: August 21, 2010, 07:40:46 pm »

Hi
I've ported Ur-Quan Masters to Android platform, and published it to Android Market.
Homesite & sources
Logged
DangerMouse
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 27



View Profile
Re: UQM ported to Android
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2010, 10:17:53 pm »

I love you! Smiley what's the name of it? I'm not seeing it. Have a QR code for it?
« Last Edit: August 21, 2010, 10:19:44 pm by DangerMouse » Logged
DangerMouse
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 27



View Profile
Re: UQM ported to Android
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2010, 10:21:23 pm »

Nevermind found it by using search for: urquan
Logged
DangerMouse
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 27



View Profile
Re: UQM ported to Android
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2010, 12:38:28 am »

Do you think you could make the overlay buttons look nicer? possibly something that looks like the psx4droid, super nintendo emulators and such with  transparent control for the button overlay? The Tyrian could use that change too.
Logged
DangerMouse
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 27



View Profile
Re: UQM ported to Android
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2010, 12:41:47 am »

Also when selecting the menu via the star at the top right it goes to the menu as normal but once you use up or down arrow it acts as though it's being pressed twice. So it skips options in the menu. lol frustrating.
Logged
DangerMouse
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 27



View Profile
Re: UQM ported to Android
« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2010, 12:45:07 am »

Can I use my audio files from the 3DO version in this like you can with the PC version of The Ur-quan Masters?
Logged
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: UQM ported to Android
« Reply #6 on: August 22, 2010, 10:51:41 am »

I don't have an Android device myself, but it's good to see that people can enjoy UQM on their Android phones know.

It would be useful to have a page somewhere where all the information is gathered on how to install the game, how to build it, where to get the modified sources, etc.
Perhaps a page on the Ultronomicon such as the one for the Windows CE port?
Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
pelya
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 40



View Profile
Re: UQM ported to Android
« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2010, 11:40:18 pm »

Hey, I'm not a designer or artist, give me some images and I'll make you any buttons you want.
I've posted a request to my libSDL page on anddev.org, got no replies yet.

Here you go: http://wiki.uqm.stack.nl/Android_port

BTW stupid question: how to name a ,zip file and what to put there so UQM will load it as game data? Putting "uqm-0.6.0-content.uqm" and UQM binary in the same dir does not work. Currently the game data is unzipped after downloading, it occupies 60 Mb of disk space because of fragmentation instead of 12 Mb zipfile.
I'll add 3DO music and voice files as optional downloads. Also I want to add Precursors remixes as optional download - if I'll just unzip them to current dir will they be used instead of data in zipfiles>
Logged
DangerMouse
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 27



View Profile
Re: UQM ported to Android
« Reply #8 on: August 23, 2010, 02:49:49 am »

I was just wondering if I could use them, since I already have them. I don't want to re-download. I'd rather just copy the files in the correct folder if that will work. So that's my question, can I put the 3d0 files and remixes in there somewhere and be able to get support for them? I'll see what I can come up with as far as control layer image. Any specific image size needed? ie screen size? or individual button sizes?
Logged
pelya
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 40



View Profile
Re: UQM ported to Android
« Reply #9 on: August 23, 2010, 10:09:03 am »

I'll add 3DO music and other files as optional download, when I'll get familiar with UQM package system.
I just took the content from project SVN and zipped it as-is - it unzips to the directory "/scdard/app-data/com.sourceforge.sc2/" on your phone (if you've selected "Install to SDcard" option), you can try to unzip 3DO music package there and maybe the game will load it.

You may create buttons of any size you want - there is option for several on-screen keyboard sizes, I'll draw your images resized to the same position where currently my poorly drawn arrows and stars are (or propose me a better button layout, I think I'll add layout editor to my config dialog so users will stop whining about bad controls)

You should give me 2 versions of images - normal and pressed state. If you'll draw just one image I'll be changing transparency value for it to show that it's pressed (this is also needed if you're using accelerometer, to show when you can stop tilting your phone).

Total amount of buttons my on-screen keyboard supports is 7, so I would be glad if you'd draw all 7 images (not necessarily stars and asterisks, just some pictograms so user will understand where to click). UQM uses just 2 buttons, OpenTyrian uses 4, but I might port someday a game that will require all 7 or even more.

Also, the main button (the asterisk symbol) supports auto-fire, so it's actually 3-state button. That feature is of use mainly to OpenTyrian, however I think it won't hurt for UQM too. To make it easier for users to find that auto-fire is actually present I've added small animation to the main button, maybe you can come up with better animation, like some parts of button shrinking or extending, or I can just remove the animation and rely on my help message in config popup.
Logged
DangerMouse
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 27



View Profile
Re: UQM ported to Android
« Reply #10 on: August 23, 2010, 11:11:43 am »

I'll see what I can come up with. I read the the natural resolution for the Droid X is 854 x 480, but I realize that it's android specific and not droid x specific. Would be cool if it could use vertex images for scaling to different resolutions. Oh well. What I was thinking is that the alpha of the button could be configured by the user in options or something.. so a user can specify how transparent the button images are... ...think that would be do-able?
Logged
pelya
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 40



View Profile
Re: UQM ported to Android
« Reply #11 on: August 23, 2010, 11:37:18 am »

Yup, I can add yet another popup dialog asking for transparency level to the 7 that already exist there (don't you want to throw your phone to the wall when click through all of them just to play the game? Try selecting Trackball and then On-screen keyboard + Accelerometer to get them all shown).
You can see the example of vertex images in the current release Tongue I even have an editor for my on-screen keyboard font
BTW let's keep discussion on anddev.org, I don'want to answer on the both forums.
Logged
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: UQM ported to Android
« Reply #12 on: August 23, 2010, 08:14:54 pm »

Thank you.

Quote
BTW stupid question: how to name a ,zip file and what to put there so UQM will load it as game data? Putting "uqm-0.6.0-content.uqm" and UQM binary in the same dir does not work.
The name of the .zip file doesn't matter, but the location does, though that can be set with a command line switch. The 'version' file is important though; it is used to detect the location of the content.
Inside the content .zip/.uqm file, you should just put the zipped tree of the content, so the root of the .zip file is the dir with the content in it.
You should tell your zip program to store .ogg files, as they compress terribly and it just takes time to decompress them again.

For more details, see here.
Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
DangerMouse
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 27



View Profile
Re: UQM ported to Android
« Reply #13 on: August 26, 2010, 09:18:33 pm »

Hey pelya... I just updated both my working opentyrian and uquan masters on my droid x running froyo... and suddenly the urquan masters crashes on load. Worked fine before. I believe the version number said 1.0.03. Anyways.. wanted to give you a heads up. Opentyrian loads fine and tested with my artwork for the controls, works great and looks good!
« Last Edit: August 26, 2010, 11:30:29 pm by DangerMouse » Logged
pelya
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 40



View Profile
Re: UQM ported to Android
« Reply #14 on: August 27, 2010, 10:19:05 am »

Can you please give me ADB logcat output? Install aLogcat application from Market, crash UQM, launch aLogcat, press Menu->Send, you know my mail Smiley
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!