The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
January 24, 2020, 08:48:22 am
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Technical Issues (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Size limit to uqm.rmp ?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Size limit to uqm.rmp ?  (Read 989 times)
Quinarbre
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 60



View Profile
Size limit to uqm.rmp ?
« on: September 23, 2010, 04:06:09 pm »

Hi,

I stumbled across that strange bug, that we had added a lot of resources to the game, up to the point that it won't take more.
Precisely, when uqm.rmp crosses the 64 ko barrier, the game won't load any resource at startup, and soon crash. I'm sure it's not an issue with the resources I add, adding them and removing an equal number of any other solved the issue (temporarily).

I tried to find a more stable way of solving this, but I can't find where the limitation is. My guess was somewhere in libs/resource there's a limitation to how the rmp file is parsed, but for instance changing integers to long int in propfile.c did not solve my issue.
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Size limit to uqm.rmp ?
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2010, 09:49:23 am »

I stumbled across that strange bug, that we had added a lot of resources to the game, up to the point that it won't take more.
Precisely, when uqm.rmp crosses the 64 ko barrier, the game won't load any resource at startup, and soon crash. I'm sure it's not an issue with the resources I add, adding them and removing an equal number of any other solved the issue (temporarily).

I tried to find a more stable way of solving this, but I can't find where the limitation is. My guess was somewhere in libs/resource there's a limitation to how the rmp file is parsed, but for instance changing integers to long int in propfile.c did not solve my issue.
Are you using Windows? There was a bug 3 years ago related to Windows-style line endings in configuration files (#912) and this may be a similar case. You may be able to work around it by using Unix-style line endings.

I suggest you make a proper bug report with test cases.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Quinarbre
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 60



View Profile
Re: Size limit to uqm.rmp ?
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2010, 04:24:17 pm »

Yup but I use emacs, among other reasons to avoid line endings issues.

I'll post a bug report, but a test case could prove harder to build, since it requires resources files to match the resource map.
Logged
Admiral Zeratul
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 223


I enjoy overthinking things.


View Profile
Re: Size limit to uqm.rmp ?
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2010, 09:08:23 pm »

...that we had added a lot of resources to the game...

Do you mean to say things like, say, ship and pilot graphics in the game can be manipulated? Is it as simple as swapping the files within the ".uqm" archives with replacements of my choice, or is the process more complicated? Either way, I surely must try it myself!  Grin
Logged

Priority override. New behavior dictated. Must break post into component ideas.
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Size limit to uqm.rmp ?
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2010, 10:33:15 pm »

...that we had added a lot of resources to the game...
Do you mean to say things like, say, ship and pilot graphics in the game can be manipulated?
You must be new here. The primary focus of development for the last years has been rewriting the resource system to make it easier to change this sort of thing.

Quote
Is it as simple as swapping the files within the ".uqm" archives with replacements of my choice, or is the process more complicated? Either way, I surely must try it myself!  Grin
If you only want a simple one-to-one swap (for example, you want to replace one song with another), you can simply replace the files (or produce a content package). If you want to do something tricky like add frames to an animation, things are more complicated.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!