The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 01, 2022, 10:05:42 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General UQM Discussion (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Making UQM more difficult
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Making UQM more difficult  (Read 2112 times)
Technolopithicus
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9



View Profile
Making UQM more difficult
« on: November 27, 2010, 02:41:42 pm »

Okay, so over the years I've played through SC2 in the range of 4 or 5 times.  So I'm wondering... is there an easy way to mod the game to make it more difficult?  For instance, is it possible to double the cost of techs, ships, and ship components?  I'm usually capped out on pretty much everything by the time I'm halfway through the game :-(
Logged
Wolframm
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 83



View Profile
Re: Making UQM more difficult
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2010, 03:15:51 pm »

Such mods already exist so there is no need to make another one. The UQM+ mod makes the game really difficult. I'm sure it'll fully statisfy your need for difficulty.
For more info, check this: http://www.freewebs.com/lightmanuqm/
« Last Edit: November 27, 2010, 03:20:09 pm by Wolframm » Logged
Technolopithicus
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9



View Profile
Re: Making UQM more difficult
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2010, 10:57:20 pm »

Ah, just what I'm looking for!!... but I have no idea how to make it work :-(  Do I need an older version of UQM?  Are there any newer versions?
Logged
onpon4
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 709


Sharing is good.


View Profile WWW
Re: Making UQM more difficult
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2010, 01:10:53 am »

Ah, just what I'm looking for!!... but I have no idea how to make it work :-(  Do I need an older version of UQM?  Are there any newer versions?

I would skip on UQM+. It might seem great and all, but it allows you to travel in Hyperspace at no fuel cost. Besides, it's built on an older version which didn't have a working in-game setup menu (something it actually supplies itself in the form of a "difficulty settings" menu), so settings have to be adjusted manually.

But if you really want to get it to work, download the UQM 0.3 content from this page and put it in the same directory that the UQM 0.6 content is in. Everything should run fine.
Logged

storyyeller
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 101



View Profile
Re: Making UQM more difficult
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2010, 06:50:15 pm »

Have you tried a no starbase run?
Logged
Alvarin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 795



View Profile
Re: Making UQM more difficult
« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2010, 09:04:17 pm »

Doesn't it crush after freeing the Chmmr this way?
Logged
oldlaptop
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337



View Profile
Re: Making UQM more difficult
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2010, 10:01:34 pm »

Doesn't it crush after freeing the Chmmr this way?

It did, but that bug was fixed way back in 0.4:

Quote from: /sc2/WhatsNew
Version 0.4
-------------

NEW FEATURES

~snip~

- - It is now possible to complete the game without ever allying with the
  Starbase (if one is insane; this is known on the forum as "Beating The
  Game Differently" - but bugs and plot elements preventing this have been
  fixed or evaded under this circumstance)
Logged

Play Supermelee online in #uqm-arena!
Netmelee Improvement Mod
Technolopithicus
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9



View Profile
Re: Making UQM more difficult
« Reply #7 on: November 29, 2010, 12:13:55 am »

Have you tried a no starbase run?

Ha, I'm assuming you're joking.  If you never hit the starbase, you never get speed improvements which I imagine would result in you never being able to actually move fast enough to complete the game by the terminal date.
Logged
Death 999
Global Moderator
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3867


We did. You did. Yes we can. No.


View Profile
Re: Making UQM more difficult
« Reply #8 on: November 29, 2010, 12:18:02 am »

You imagine incorrectly. It's been done.
Logged
onpon4
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 709


Sharing is good.


View Profile WWW
Re: Making UQM more difficult
« Reply #9 on: November 29, 2010, 01:18:23 am »

Yup, it's possible, but a LOT of save-scumming is needed and you must be good in combat. If you do try it, a word of advice: save in Hyperspace, not in the converse/combat selection screen. Doing the latter causes the ship's orientation to be reset to north if you load the save.
Logged

storyyeller
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 101



View Profile
Re: Making UQM more difficult
« Reply #10 on: November 30, 2010, 05:18:22 pm »

Amusingly, there's a few lines of code in the game specifically to prevent crashing after meeting the Chmmr. I actually checked once.
Logged
onpon4
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 709


Sharing is good.


View Profile WWW
Re: Making UQM more difficult
« Reply #11 on: November 30, 2010, 09:17:26 pm »

Amusingly, there's a few lines of code in the game specifically to prevent crashing after meeting the Chmmr. I actually checked once.

Yes... and if you'd been paying attention, you would know that this was brought up just 5 posts ago in this thread:

Doesn't it crush after freeing the Chmmr this way?

It did, but that bug was fixed way back in 0.4:

Quote from: /sc2/WhatsNew
Version 0.4
-------------

NEW FEATURES

~snip~

- - It is now possible to complete the game without ever allying with the
  Starbase (if one is insane; this is known on the forum as "Beating The
  Game Differently" - but bugs and plot elements preventing this have been
  fixed or evaded under this circumstance)

The code you mention was the bug fix mentioned in that post.
Logged

storyyeller
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 101



View Profile
Re: Making UQM more difficult
« Reply #12 on: December 01, 2010, 07:27:05 am »

I did read the thread. But saying the bug was fixed doesn't necessarily imply there's a special section of code to deal with it. There are a lot of forms a bugfix can take. Anyway, it's not a very important point.
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!