The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 12, 2022, 07:55:49 am
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Technical Issues (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Unwanted 'Skip ahead' in translation
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Unwanted 'Skip ahead' in translation  (Read 2321 times)
GermanNightmare
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 311


Eddie wants Ur-Quan Trophies!


View Profile
Unwanted 'Skip ahead' in translation
« on: February 06, 2003, 11:07:46 pm »

Hi there, I really hope that somebody can help me!

I've translated the first .txt file completely and it works just fine within the game (tested all answer combinations and events that might happen)

(X:\UQM\content\comm\comandr\comandr.txt)

Now I'm tackling the next file and translating is kinda easy, BUT

after that 2 weeks break when the commander should start his opening sequence talking about good news and what they can do now, the game skips to the next thing in that file!

(X:\UQM\content\comm\starbas\starbas.txt)

It seems, that the programs is not using the right order in that file! The 3 "Starbase is ready" parts are completely omitted and instead the following 2 are played in succession

...
#(HEAVY_LOAD_G1)
here's text

#(STARBASE_IS_READY_A) starb045.ogg
here's text

#(STARBASE_IS_READY_B)
here's text

#(STARBASE_IS_READY_C)
here's text

#(WHAT_KIND_OF_INFO) starb046.ogg
here's text

#(WHICH_FUNCTION) starb047.ogg
here's text
...

Any idea why that happens? I ain't done anything to the headlines, just changed what is written underneath them.

Could it be that there are 'keywords' in the text which must not be 'deleted' or changed?

Please HELP! Ain't no fun this way!!!
« Last Edit: February 06, 2003, 11:10:35 pm by German_Nightmare » Logged

Greetings from the German Nightmare - Up the Irons!
Striker
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 29


Frungy!


View Profile WWW
Re: Unwanted 'Skip ahead' in translation
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2003, 12:31:05 am »

They don't have an .ogg behind them like the other ones, therefore no speech gets played. Apparently those speech files or non-existant or someone just didn't put them in. You could go through the .ogg's and see if you can find them yourself and then put them in.
« Last Edit: February 07, 2003, 12:33:26 am by Striker » Logged
GermanNightmare
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 311


Eddie wants Ur-Quan Trophies!


View Profile
Re: Unwanted 'Skip ahead' in translation
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2003, 01:30:11 am »

Thanks for the advice, but that is not it.

The one .ogg is good for all three starbase-texts.

The breaks are where the game should insert the ship's name:

pt.1
...we have already begun minor repairs on the (blank)
pt.2
...and to train new members of your crew for the (blank)
pt.3
...rest

But for some reason, the game does not access that file at all, doesn't even play the soundfile?

Additional HELP! would be very welcome!!! Maybe one of the developer wizards know something about it? Any hint?
Logged

Greetings from the German Nightmare - Up the Irons!
Nic.
Guest


Email
Re: Unwanted 'Skip ahead' in translation
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2003, 01:39:09 am »

I quickly got the impression that the file format they were using was a bit..."fragile"; they've made noises to the effect of switching to something XML-based (or somesuch).  In its current state, it could tip over for any number of reasons.

My advice:  Hopefully you made a backup of the original file (just pull it out of CVS if you didn't) revert to it and put the subtitles back in, one section at a time, until you see it break.  At least then you'll know "where" the problem is.
Logged
GermanNightmare
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 311


Eddie wants Ur-Quan Trophies!


View Profile
Re: Unwanted 'Skip ahead' in translation
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2003, 02:14:41 am »

I still had the backup, since I copied the whole game on another harddrive - one will not be touched!
Good idea to restore the file and do it step by step!

It seems that the problem is somewhere above that text passage, I'll check the "format" of those later (after I could save the game again).
Right now I'm fighting that Dill-Rat each and every time in order to see that scene...
Logged

Greetings from the German Nightmare - Up the Irons!
Striker
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 29


Frungy!


View Profile WWW
Re: Unwanted 'Skip ahead' in translation
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2003, 02:24:27 am »

Maybe after you're done you need to do resynching using PhracturedBlue's resynching tool which is floating around here somewhere on the forum. Just a thought, if you run into it again while doing it step by step.
Logged
GermanNightmare
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 311


Eddie wants Ur-Quan Trophies!


View Profile
Re: Unwanted 'Skip ahead' in translation
« Reply #6 on: February 07, 2003, 02:45:47 am »

Thanks, I'll definitely do that once I've gotten the rest to play in the right order...
Keep your fingers crossed!
Logged

Greetings from the German Nightmare - Up the Irons!
GermanNightmare
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 311


Eddie wants Ur-Quan Trophies!


View Profile
Re: Unwanted 'Skip ahead' in translation
« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2003, 06:06:28 am »

The skips are gone and I'm working on translating the files - never thought it would be so time-consuming, but hey! It's SCII, best pc game ever released besides LOOM, and it is a lot of fun, too!
Logged

Greetings from the German Nightmare - Up the Irons!
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!