The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 26, 2022, 11:53:42 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Celebrating 30 years of Star Control 2 - The Ur-Quan Masters

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Technical Issues (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  How to access to the command line console?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: How to access to the command line console?  (Read 2763 times)
The Guy
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 12



View Profile
How to access to the command line console?
« on: February 24, 2011, 01:04:59 am »

hello

i've been trying to find where do i have to tip those commands but i don't know where, also, i can't use the star search thing, my / key works perfectly but the game doesn't start a search when i press it
« Last Edit: February 24, 2011, 07:58:13 pm by The Guy » Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: How to access to the command line console?
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2011, 12:05:21 pm »

First, RTTFAQ. We can't help you find stuff in your operating system without knowing which one it is, and you should be able to find what you need in the FAQ. You should also tell us which version of UQM you are running and where you got it. Also, when reporting problems with keys, it would help to know what sort of keyboard you are using, particularly the layout.

I can't seem to get the star search feature to work myself with the default settings under Linux with UQM 0.6.2 or current SVN with my usual Finnish keyboard layout or US English; pressing either "/" key (main keyboard or numeric keypad) does nothing in the starmap. However, remapping the key by editing keys.cfg works with UQM 0.6.2.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
The Guy
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 12



View Profile
Re: How to access to the command line console?
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2011, 07:57:52 pm »

sorry i forgot it  Grin

i'm using Windows XP SP3 and i have UQM 0.6.2, i've already read the FAQ but i didn´t find something that said how to access the command line console
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: How to access to the command line console?
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2011, 02:19:48 pm »

In Windows XP, you can get a command prompt by selecting "Run..." from the Start menu and entering "cmd". I'm not sure this is what you want.

Another thing you could be asking about is how to change the command line used by a shortcut. This is doing by right-clicking the shortcut, selecting "Properties" and editing the Target field on the Shortcut tab. This information used to be in the technical FAQ, but you shouldn't need to do this any more in most cases, since UQM's built-in setup menu supports most of these options.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
The Guy
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 12



View Profile
Re: How to access to the command line console?
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2011, 05:49:17 pm »

thank you i found it, but i still have a problem, i'm trying to install the mycon speech add on, and i tried using
Code:
"C:\Program files\The Ur-Quan Masters\uqm.exe" --addon mycon-speech
and it said
Code:
Could not find content
but i have the file in the "addon" folder, what can i do?
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: How to access to the command line console?
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2011, 07:04:09 pm »

You mean "Fatal error: Could not find content.", right? If you're running UQM from the command line, you should either use the -n option to specify where the content directory is or enter the main UQM program directory before running UQM. Similarly, the working directory for a shortcut needs to be the UQM directory unless you use the -n option. If you're trying to create a shortcut, try copying and editing one that works rather than creating your own from scratch.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
The Guy
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 12



View Profile
Re: How to access to the command line console?
« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2011, 11:40:50 pm »

ok, i tried opening the UQM directory, and this time it displayed the same message that the program shows when i type -h, i'm not sure if it worked, cuz i noticed that any command i type, i can only receive two answers: the help message and the "Fatal error: Could not find content."
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: How to access to the command line console?
« Reply #7 on: March 01, 2011, 08:35:16 am »

Could you explain exactly what you're typing and where and where you've installed UQM and how? I suspect the problem is in what you're not saying.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
The Guy
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 12



View Profile
Re: How to access to the command line console?
« Reply #8 on: March 01, 2011, 11:42:16 pm »

ok, i'll try to avoid omissions

First, as you recommended i opened the UQM main directory (C:\Program Files\The Ur-Quan Masters), then i opened the command line console and typed:
Code:
"C:\Program Files\The Ur-Quan Masters\uqm.exe" --addon mycon_speech
the program showed the same message that i see when i type the -h command.

Then i tried typing
Code:
"C:\Program Files\The Ur-Quan Masters\uqm.exe" -n
i got the same answer than above.

Finally i realized that i typed "mycon_speech" instead of "mycon-speech", so i typed
Code:
]"C:\Program Files\The Ur-Quan Masters\uqm.exe" --addon mycon-speech
answer: "Fatal error: Could not find content."

How i installed it? i simply opened the installer and i let it install it in the program files folder

PD: i saw the stderr.txt file and i found a few particular lines that said:
Using 'C:/Program Files/The Ur-Quan Masters/content' as base content dir.
1 available addon pack.
    1. mycon-speech.uqm
« Last Edit: March 02, 2011, 12:14:12 am by The Guy » Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: How to access to the command line console?
« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2011, 06:09:42 am »

First, as you recommended i opened the UQM main directory (C:\Program Files\The Ur-Quan Masters), then i opened the command line console and typed:
Code:
"C:\Program Files\The Ur-Quan Masters\uqm.exe" --addon mycon_speech
the program showed the same message that i see when i type the -h command.
I think I see where we've been failing to communicate. By "enter the main UQM program directory before running UQM", I meant "change the current directory of the command prompt to the UQM directory". You do this by entering:
Code:
c:
cd "\Program Files\The Ur-Quan Masters"
uqm
You can see the current directory as part of the command prompt (left of the ">" sign). On my system at least, it defaults to my profile root.

Also, the -n option takes a directory as a parameter, so you could have typed:
Code:
"c:\Program Files\The Ur-Quan Masters\uqm.exe" -n "c:\Program Files\The Ur-Quan Masters\content"
In both cases, adding "--addon mycon-speech" should activate the add-on, so wrapping everything up into a single command gives you:
Code:
"c:\Program Files\The Ur-Quan Masters\uqm.exe" -n "c:\Program Files\The Ur-Quan Masters\content" --addon mycon-speech
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
onpon4
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 709


Sharing is good.


View Profile WWW
Re: How to access to the command line console?
« Reply #10 on: March 02, 2011, 02:34:51 pm »

Let me ask something:

You have mycon-speech.uqm in the directory "C:\Program Files\The Ur-Quan Masters\addons\mycon-speech", right? You didn't just put mycon-speech.uqm into the addons directory? Because I seem to think that archives put directly into the addons folder are ignored.
Logged

The Guy
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 12



View Profile
Re: How to access to the command line console?
« Reply #11 on: March 03, 2011, 10:49:57 pm »

Hey! it seems to work! as onpon4 suggested, add ons are ignored unless they´re in a folder with the same name.

I made the try with the yellow-fried add on (cuz, i'll be frank, i haven't met the mycon yet) and it actually worked, then i tried using the same command in the shortcut, and it worked too

and i had problems understanding the command to change the directory, after searching in internet i realized i had to type
Code:
cd "\Program Files\The Ur-Quan Masters"
and i had to type "uqm" before any command

Thanks for the help Grin
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!