The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 20, 2020, 11:37:24 am
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Technical Issues (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  has anyone written a patch for internal speed?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: has anyone written a patch for internal speed?  (Read 2369 times)
Deathy
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 25


Don't forget to *enjoy the sauce*!


View Profile
has anyone written a patch for internal speed?
« on: January 30, 2003, 05:10:57 am »

The way that .01 (straight from the installer) runs, there's no interal speed meterage, it's based solely on max-CPU speed. That's a problem if your box has any horsepower at all.

Every DOS-game junkie in the world knows how to declock the CPU, but I know the end result that everyone's going for is an off-the-shelf, isn't-this-game-we-love-cool idiot friendly total conversion port of SC2.

The way it stands now, UM is inaccesible to anyone who's not a DOS nerd and has only a modern (ie Me/XP, lotsa RAM lotsa ghz CPU) computer. I had the same problem running SC2 on a 486/100 back in the day.

Has someone worked out the code for an interal clocking mechanism yet?

Can I have it/test it?
Logged
Daniel
Guest


Email
Re: has anyone written a patch for internal speed?
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2003, 06:04:49 am »

Quote
The way that .01 (straight from the installer) runs, there's no interal speed meterage, it's based solely on max-CPU speed. That's a problem if your box has any horsepower at all.


I have an Athlon T-bird (1.2 GHz) and uqm always ran at a sensible speed on it, both in 0.1 and from CVS. (and, I should add, it definitely did NOT use 100% of the available CPU time) I think you're seeing something specific to your system (maybe it's a Windows thing?)

The developers might have more information.

Daniel
Logged
Deathy
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 25


Don't forget to *enjoy the sauce*!


View Profile
Re: has anyone written a patch for internal speed?
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2003, 03:52:20 pm »

Great. Yet another XP feature?

Alright, lemme see if I can do any memory allocation or compatibility tricks.

I know UM's got it's own mini OS. Is there a minimum amount of RAM it needs assigned? Can I deny it rescources to slow it down?

I may want to deny it any kind of virtual memory either, the way it leaks. Defrag is probably in order anyway.
Logged
nightshadow
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 64


The PT-Masters are coming...


View Profile
Re: has anyone written a patch for internal speed?
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2003, 02:40:33 am »


Uh... what are you guys talking about ?

UQM runs fine on my machine.

I have an Athlon 2000+ and am using WindowsXP.
Logged

Best regards,
Night Shadow
Deathy
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 25


Don't forget to *enjoy the sauce*!


View Profile
Re: has anyone written a patch for internal speed?
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2003, 09:51:57 am »

All due respect, guys, but the exception does not prove the rule here.

I'm happy for you, that you've got high speed boxes that don't have clocking issues. But I do, and come v1.0 there will be dozens or hundreds of newbie idiots with my same problem.

I know it's mentioned in the TODOs, I'm just wondering if anyone's TODOne it yet. And if so, can you do me up a patch?

Sorry to be a one trick pony here, but the fact that I can't really do anything in combat limits my ability to beta later parts of the game.
Logged
PhracturedBlue
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 88


Me developer. Here me roar!


View Profile
Re: has anyone written a patch for internal speed?
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2003, 07:14:10 pm »

Quote
All due respect, guys, but the exception does not prove the rule here.

I know it's mentioned in the TODOs, I'm just wondering if anyone's TODOne it yet. And if so, can you do me up a patch?


Well, i don't know the answer to your question, however, there is one way  to  find out:  get one of the recent snapshots that have been posted (striker's for instance).  And see if your problem goes away.

If not, we need to know more aboutyour hardware:  CPU, how much RAM, OS, Video Card, Sound Card.

Also, do you use any switches when running the game?

The game uses a pretty standard timer for contolling its play speed, so tracking down the problem involves knowing  something about what is special about your system.
Logged
Deathy
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 25


Don't forget to *enjoy the sauce*!


View Profile
Re: has anyone written a patch for internal speed?
« Reply #6 on: February 07, 2003, 03:11:02 am »

AMD Athalon 1.4 Ghz
480 megs RAM
ProSavage S3
VIA AC'97 Audio Controller (I think, HP has really wacky sound and 3D cards [that are usually soldered onto the motherboard]).

So that's me. I've experimented with all of the switches, no clocking changes.

I've also been playing around with Stryke's latest, but there are issues to be resolved before I can get into the game.

I guess I'll have to let you know later. Thanks for taking an interest, PB.
Logged
Deathy
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 25


Don't forget to *enjoy the sauce*!


View Profile
Re: has anyone written a patch for internal speed?
« Reply #7 on: February 07, 2003, 03:13:09 am »

Oh yes, almost forgot: I'm running XP Home.
Logged
Deathy
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 25


Don't forget to *enjoy the sauce*!


View Profile
Re: has anyone written a patch for internal speed?
« Reply #8 on: February 09, 2003, 04:34:47 am »

Yay! The latest build Striker put up fixes my problem! Nevermind!

Now I can actually enter into combat.

Thanks to all who helped (PB particularly).
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!