The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 05, 2022, 08:54:42 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General UQM Discussion (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Quasi-Space Won't Work D: Help
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Quasi-Space Won't Work D: Help  (Read 1764 times)
Muchoman798
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10



View Profile
Quasi-Space Won't Work D: Help
« on: January 23, 2013, 09:05:03 pm »

Hi everyone! Thanks for stopping by.

Anyway, I have a severe issue with the game that I really don't understand. I can't tell if it is a bug or user error, though I'm guessing user error since I'm new and have not come across anyone else with the same problem.

When I try to enter Quasi-Space for the first time from Hyper Space, I can't. I go near the portal that appears on the 17th in Arilou space, and drive my ship into it. Then I am taken straight to the main menu, no dialogue, no special sounds, just straight to the menu.

Upon first researching why, it seemed it was because I hadn't actually heard of the portal in game (I observed it "north" of Circini on my own.) Then, I accidentally heard about it from someone in game and tried again (I forget who.) So, I tried again and the issue happened again. Next, I thought it was a save/time issue (I had only realized it in 2159, though the Kohr Ah hadn't started the death march yet.) I loaded a save from 2157 and it didn't work. Finally, I tried a new save and went there in 2155 after allying and talking to the Spathi about it. And still, I'm sent straight to the main menu.

Is this normal? What should I do?



I am using the HD Ur Quan Masters Mod, HiRes 2x graphics.

System specs
(click to show/hide)
« Last Edit: January 23, 2013, 09:32:37 pm by Muchoman798 » Logged
onpon4
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 709


Sharing is good.


View Profile WWW
Re: Quasi-Space Won't Work D: Help
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2013, 09:22:41 pm »

No, that's not normal. Are you using normal UQM or the HD mod? If it's the HD mod, it might be a bug specific to it.
Logged

Muchoman798
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10



View Profile
Re: Quasi-Space Won't Work D: Help
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2013, 09:27:06 pm »

I'm using the HD Mod, with HiRes 2x graphics. I'm going to edit the main post to have my system specs too, and if necessary I'll open up the debugger and post what it says.
Logged
oldlaptop
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337



View Profile
Re: Quasi-Space Won't Work D: Help
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2013, 10:54:44 pm »

That is a known issue with hires2x. Hires2x in general is horribly, horribly broken at the moment and you shouldn't use it. It will hopefully be fixed in the uqm-hd beta release sometime around March.
Logged

Play Supermelee online in #uqm-arena!
Netmelee Improvement Mod
Muchoman798
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10



View Profile
Re: Quasi-Space Won't Work D: Help
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2013, 12:15:40 am »

Aw, okay Sad . Thank you! I'll switch off of it.

Does it matter that it's HiRes 2x 3:4 version? That one doesn't say "VERY BUGGY"
Just curious.
« Last Edit: January 24, 2013, 12:18:54 am by Muchoman798 » Logged
Muchoman798
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10



View Profile
Re: Quasi-Space Won't Work D: Help
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2013, 12:28:39 am »

Okay, I switched over to LoRes, but now I can't get into planetary orbit...
Logged
dczanik
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 306



View Profile WWW
Re: Quasi-Space Won't Work D: Help
« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2013, 03:12:23 am »

Okay, I switched over to LoRes, but now I can't get into planetary orbit...

Yeah, poor guys with low res monitors, we'll get you fixed up soon.

There's a fix you can do listed here:
http://code.google.com/p/uqm-hd/issues/detail?id=173&can=1&start=100
Logged

- Damon
Ur-Quan Masters HD Project leader/artist. Project 6014 Artist.  Like my art? Please check out some of my other artwork
Muchoman798
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10



View Profile
Re: Quasi-Space Won't Work D: Help
« Reply #7 on: January 24, 2013, 05:22:06 am »

I'm gonna try this. Hopefully this works. I also might just hook up my laptop to a massively high res monitor.

Honestly, I'm really amazed at the lack of fatal bugs overall in the HD. I've only seen two.

Thanks for the help guys! I really appreciate being new to something and getting such great support Cheesy
Logged
oldlaptop
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337



View Profile
Re: Quasi-Space Won't Work D: Help
« Reply #8 on: January 24, 2013, 09:45:55 pm »

I'm gonna try this. Hopefully this works. I also might just hook up my laptop to a massively high res monitor.

A 1080p TV (1920x1080) will also work fine with hires4x (a 720p TV (1360x720) will not, however).
Logged

Play Supermelee online in #uqm-arena!
Netmelee Improvement Mod
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!