The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 08, 2021, 08:29:21 am
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Technical Issues (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Can't get it full-screened
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Can't get it full-screened  (Read 5359 times)
Canter
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2



View Profile
Can't get it full-screened
« on: January 20, 2013, 03:24:11 am »

Now, let's start with saying I'm not that good with computers. I know how everything works, but I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to downloading stuff. My problem is, when I opened the file with WINRAR, I was really excited and clicked the most likely button to be start-game file. Which was the start game file, called: 'uqmdebug'. Well, it worked. but it's fullscreen sized and I can't get it fullscreened. So I miss a part of the bottom game, which makes it kindoff unplayable. I also can't make the game smaller. What can I do to fix this? Do I need to open another file ? -Love, Canter
Logged
superbutcherx
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 116



View Profile
Re: Can't get it full-screened
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2013, 02:28:00 pm »

Hi, Canter!

I'm the lead programmer of the Ur-Quan Masters HD mod (which I assume you're playing),
Unfortunately the current release is just an alpha version of the game, and thus it still works a bit wonkily.

Your monitor probably cannot display 960 pixels vertically (I assume your max resolution is 1366x768 or 1280x800). In that case there is currently no way to squeeze the game's 1280x960 resolution into your screen. You see, we haven't yet had time to add a proper downscaling algorithm into the game, which would allow the 1280x960 shrink to, say, 1024x768 without making it look like a horrible mess. So, the best option for now is to use an external monitor that supports e.g. 1920x1080 - or play the game in its original 320x240 mode (which admittedly defeats the purpose of playing the HD mod).

We are currently making a Beta release, which should be out in March or so. For Beta, we are gonna have a proper and working 640x480 version, so that might already be a small consolation. We're also looking for a way to implement a downscaling algorithm for the graphics so the players could fit the 1280x960 into any screen. But I'm not sure if we can get that working.

Logged
Canter
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2



View Profile
Re: Can't get it full-screened
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2013, 02:48:00 pm »

Hi, Canter!

I'm the lead programmer of the Ur-Quan Masters HD mod (which I assume you're playing),
Unfortunately the current release is just an alpha version of the game, and thus it still works a bit wonkily.

Your monitor probably cannot display 960 pixels vertically (I assume your max resolution is 1366x768 or 1280x800). In that case there is currently no way to squeeze the game's 1280x960 resolution into your screen. You see, we haven't yet had time to add a proper downscaling algorithm into the game, which would allow the 1280x960 shrink to, say, 1024x768 without making it look like a horrible mess. So, the best option for now is to use an external monitor that supports e.g. 1920x1080 - or play the game in its original 320x240 mode (which admittedly defeats the purpose of playing the HD mod).

We are currently making a Beta release, which should be out in March or so. For Beta, we are gonna have a proper and working 640x480 version, so that might already be a small consolation. We're also looking for a way to implement a downscaling algorithm for the graphics so the players could fit the 1280x960 into any screen. But I'm not sure if we can get that working.



Hey superbutcher ! Thanks for your reaction, helped me out. I actualy do have a HD monitor screen and 2 HDMI cables laying here, I connected 1 HDMI cable to my laptop, and my monitor, so I can see my computerscreen on my monitor now (So cool !!!) , but it still won't work.. Does this mean I'm gonna have to wait for the beta to play the full-HD game ? If so, where can I play the non-HD game ? Is it in the same folder as the HD game, or should I take a look around the piratebay?
-Love, Canter
Logged
superbutcherx
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 116



View Profile
Re: Can't get it full-screened
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2013, 03:47:12 pm »

No problem Smiley

How do you mean it doesn't work? Does the game run at all with the external monitor attached or does it just not go into fullscreen?

If it's just not running fullscreen, but starts, there are a couple of options you could do:
- The simplest way is to play in windowed mode and drag the window to the HD monitor. You can select the windowed mode from the game's start menu ->setup->graphics options->display.

-Another way is to make your laptop use only the external monitor. On OSX (which I'm using) one way to do it is: connecting the monitor to the laptop while it's running, then closing the laptop lid, then starting the game in fullscreen mode. Now, because you of course need keyboard for the game, you should open the lid. Now, on OSX, the game stays on the external monitor and doesn't switch back to the laptop monitor. But it might be different for Windows PCs though, dunno!

The original, non-HD version is there in the game! No need to revert to piracy. You just go to startmenu->setup->graphics options and select the 320x240 resolution.
Logged
oldlaptop
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337



View Profile
Re: Can't get it full-screened
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2013, 07:07:20 pm »

Is it in the same folder as the HD game, or should I take a look around the piratebay?
-Love, Canter

You can also play the 'official' Ur-Quan-Masters (of which uqm-hd is a fork, more or less), which is a straight port of the original 3DO version. This still lacks a few non-resolution related enhancements (like destroyed Zoq-Fot-Pik colonies) from uqm-hd, and obviously lacks dczanik's nice high-resolution graphics. It is more stable than uqm-hd though (since uqm-hd is in an early alpha state).
Logged

Play Supermelee online in #uqm-arena!
Netmelee Improvement Mod
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!