The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 01, 2022, 11:07:26 am
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General UQM Discussion (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  What scripting language does sc2 use?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: What scripting language does sc2 use?  (Read 1648 times)
John Le Sway
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 19


I like SC2. Alot. :)


View Profile
What scripting language does sc2 use?
« on: October 22, 2013, 04:11:08 am »

I have no life so I feel like I need to be productive, and I feel like making a sequel to the only good video game on earth.
If anyone could tell me I'd be very satisfied.
Logged

~Kohr-Ah ain't got noting on this~
onpon4
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 709


Sharing is good.


View Profile WWW
Re: What scripting language does sc2 use?
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2013, 07:08:43 am »

It doesn't. The code is all in C and it doesn't have scripting support.
Logged

John Le Sway
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 19


I like SC2. Alot. :)


View Profile
Re: What scripting language does sc2 use?
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2013, 05:59:28 am »

Oh. Sad
Logged

~Kohr-Ah ain't got noting on this~
Elestan
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 431



View Profile
Re: What scripting language does sc2 use?
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2013, 07:05:22 pm »

Oh. Sad

Remember, the game was made in the early '90s.  Scripting languages weren't being used in video games at that time.
Logged
onpon4
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 709


Sharing is good.


View Profile WWW
Re: What scripting language does sc2 use?
« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2013, 07:28:51 pm »

If you want to try a space game with scripting support, I'd suggest Naev.[1] That game uses Lua as a scripting language. Granted, it's rather different from UQM.

[1] http://naev.org
Logged

meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: What scripting language does sc2 use?
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2013, 06:27:30 pm »

Actually, there's a Git branch for UQM which adds Lua support. This will be integrated into the master branch in the near future.

Oh, did I mention, we switched to Git?
« Last Edit: October 28, 2013, 06:35:13 pm by meep-eep » Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
Death 999
Global Moderator
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3867


We did. You did. Yes we can. No.


View Profile
Re: What scripting language does sc2 use?
« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2013, 08:52:47 pm »

No, you didn't, and I was about to ask when you would...
Logged
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: What scripting language does sc2 use?
« Reply #7 on: November 06, 2013, 09:04:31 am »

A few weeks ago, as a matter of fact.
Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!