The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
January 26, 2022, 10:05:31 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Technical Issues (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  How do I change just one music track? (HyperSpace in this case)
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: How do I change just one music track? (HyperSpace in this case)  (Read 2019 times)
Tamnosynth
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 13



View Profile
How do I change just one music track? (HyperSpace in this case)
« on: July 12, 2014, 04:10:57 pm »

Hi everyone,

I'm sure this is an amazingly stupid question, but I'm not the most tech-savvy type  Cry

I'm playing UQM 0.7.0 on Win XP and usually use the 3DO music. However, I've grown very fond of the original HyperSpace music, so I'd like to change that to Mark Vera's 'Re-enter' purist remastering.

Is there a simple way to do this? (And by extension, change the version of any single track?)

(I have the Re-enter mix as an .ogv file.)

I did have a look at the technical FAQ on the wiki, but it lost me as soon as it started talking about command lines.  Tongue

Logged
oldlaptop
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337



View Profile
Re: How do I change just one music track? (HyperSpace in this case)
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2014, 04:25:37 am »

You could simply unzip the 3domusic addon (normally in <uqm install directory>/content/addons) and replace the offending file (make a backup of course). ".uqm" files are in actual fact perfectly ordinary ZIP files. The right way of course would be to make another addon; the structure of the official addons should be a big hint.
Logged

Play Supermelee online in #uqm-arena!
Netmelee Improvement Mod
Tamnosynth
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 13



View Profile
Re: How do I change just one music track? (HyperSpace in this case)
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2014, 02:02:55 pm »

Well, I tried the first way and it nearly worked...  Undecided

I extracted the 3do music, removed 'hyper', replaced it with the re-enter remix, renamed it 'hyper' and zipped everything up again. Then I made sure the name of the ZIP file was the same as the original .uqm file (although without the .uqm extension).

Unfortunately, no music plays in HyperSpace. All the other 3do tracks play as normal, though.

Could it be because it's an .ogv rather than .ogg?
Logged
CelticMinstrel
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 522



View Profile
Re: How do I change just one music track? (HyperSpace in this case)
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2014, 03:57:25 pm »

You could probably just rename it to hyper.ogg. If you have file extensions hidden I think you can use the Properties window to do this (right-click file, click Properties), or you could just show file extensions in Folder Options.

Alternatively, you could edit the text file that specifies the names of the files to make it expect an ogv, though I'm not certain that would work.
Logged
Tamnosynth
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 13



View Profile
Re: How do I change just one music track? (HyperSpace in this case)
« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2014, 02:14:26 pm »

Happy days and jubilation!  Grin

Renaming the file with an .ogg extension worked perfectly. Thanks!
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!