The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 25, 2022, 09:08:09 am
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General UQM Discussion (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  SuperMelee Slots to 14?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: SuperMelee Slots to 14?  (Read 1903 times)
Yuzisee
Guest


Email
SuperMelee Slots to 14?
« on: March 11, 2003, 01:44:02 am »

After trying out beta 0.1, and recently downloading 0.2, I recognized an interesting difference between this version, and the old PC version. The PC version supported two extra slots per team in the SuperMelee.
I was just curious if you guys were planning to eventually increase the number of slots in the SuperMelee to 14?
I noticed it when I found my old DOS SC2, which doesn't have sound in WinXP, and was trying to set up all my old SuperMelee teams...
Maybe I was just spoiled with the two extra spots for each team, hehe.
Any thoughts?
Logged
Death 999
Global Moderator
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3867


We did. You did. Yes we can. No.


View Profile
Re: SuperMelee Slots to 14?
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2003, 05:32:45 am »

They'd have to reconfigure the screen so everything would fit. Not impossible, but it's not just a programming issue.
Logged
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: SuperMelee Slots to 14?
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2003, 09:11:33 am »

The usable part of the 3DO screen was slightly smaller. This is probably why there are two less slots. As there's now a black border, it seems like a good idea to bring those slots back.
I've added the issue to the bugzilla database. Feel free to add these things to the bug database yourself in the future btw.
Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
Omni-Sama
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 359


Zebranky-Killer


View Profile
Re: SuperMelee Slots to 14?
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2003, 04:56:14 am »

I don't care if the screen looks like hell by adding another two ships into the Super Melee mode, 'cuz I'd rather have 14 ships to pick from over 12 any day.  It would sure make for longer, more carnage-filled hours of playing... hehe.  Plus, more like the PC game, that near-perfect wonder we all love.
Logged

"Even Our House Pets Are Rather Evil." - Ilwrath Captain
chmmravatar
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 109


WHAT IS DONE IS DONE


View Profile
Re: SuperMelee Slots to 14?
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2003, 08:15:28 am »

I just made a patch to add the two additional slots. If you want to check it out (you will need a compiler and the code off the cvs), it's under bug #248:  http://uqm.stack.nl/cgi-bin/bugs/show_bug.cgi?id=248

It also adds 10 default teams from the PC version that were not in UQM. Hopefully this will be added to 0.3.
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!