The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 15, 2021, 10:24:55 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Technical Issues (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Can't get fullscreen mode to work...
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Can't get fullscreen mode to work...  (Read 9426 times)
Jim Vieira
Guest


Email
Can't get fullscreen mode to work...
« on: April 09, 2003, 04:29:21 am »

Hey all, I just found out about this wonderful port today. I was a big fan of this game back in the day so I decided to try it out.  I cannot get the full screen to work however.  And I'm sure I am putting the command line options right.

-f  -r 640x480    is put after the "C:\Program Files\..." part.

It seems like it WANTS to work, it goes full screen for a brief second, then comes back into a 640x480 window.

I've tried without the -r 640x480 part, also tried with other options like -o and -r 320x240.  I'm running Windows XP Pro.  Anyone else had this problem and know how to fix it?
Logged
JimVieira
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4



View Profile
Re: Can't get fullscreen mode to work...
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2003, 04:47:37 am »

I got it working using:

-f -o -r 1024x768    

My desktop is 1024x768, so the window takes up the whole screen.  Is that how the fullscreen works, or should I be able to get a real, fullscreen display?
Logged
AnonomouSpathi
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 156


Spathi?  What spathi?  You're imagining, hunam.


View Profile
Re: Can't get fullscreen mode to work...
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2003, 07:49:15 am »

You should be able to get a true fullscreen.  I can't say I know what the problem is though.
Logged
JimVieira
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4



View Profile
Re: Can't get fullscreen mode to work...
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2003, 10:50:06 am »

I dunno, must be my video card or something. It's pretty old.  The way I have it now, it's basically giving me a 1024x768 window, but I can live with it this way.

Thanks though.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2003, 10:51:24 am by JimVieira » Logged
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: Can't get fullscreen mode to work...
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2003, 02:45:50 am »

It's probably not your hardware. But it could be the device driver for your graphics card. You could try updating that, and DirectX.
Another thing you could try that might  have some effect is to set your display to another colour depth (it shouldn't matter for the game, but it might matter for your graphics card).

(For *nix, you need a display mode in your X config for 320x240 or 640x480)

Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
JimVieira
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4



View Profile
Re: Can't get fullscreen mode to work...
« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2003, 03:10:45 am »

In case you are interested, I'll post my video info.

ASUS AGP-V6800 DDR  (basically a Geforce 256 64mb DDR)
Detonator drivers 43.45 (latest from nvidia Mar 27th nonWHQL)
DirectX 9.0A

I just tried every combo with the display depth. First I was doing them like this:

-f -o -r 1024x768 -d 16
-f -o -r 1024x768 -d 24
-f -o -r 1024x768 -d 32

It would still go full screen for a second, and then would come back to windows and give me the game in a 1024x768 window.

Then I tried just the fullscreen command + color depth:

-f -d 16
-f -d 24
-f -d 32

All of these go fullscreen briefly, then back to windows, and then the game starts in a window, but a small window, I'd say the 640x480 size.  

I can live with it the way it is, but I thought I'd give the details in case you have any interest in looking into it, or if other people have the problem, etc.
Logged
akiross70
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


I love YaBB 1G - SP1!


View Profile
Re: Can't get fullscreen mode to work...
« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2003, 05:22:11 am »

Excuse me. Where should i type those commands?
Logged
JimVieira
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4



View Profile
Re: Can't get fullscreen mode to work...
« Reply #7 on: April 14, 2003, 03:21:11 am »

Right click on the game SHORTCUT, choose properties.

You should see a shortcut line with the path to the game exectuable, something like:

"C:\Program Files\The Ur-Quan Masters\uqm.exe"

You put these commands AFTER the quotes, like so:

"C:\Program Files\The Ur-Quan Masters\uqm.exe" -f -o -r 1024x768

Logged
t4b
Guest


Email
Re: Can't get fullscreen mode to work...
« Reply #8 on: May 02, 2003, 01:26:25 am »

can someone help me ...i got a good pc i think...
what do i have to write in the target line to get better results -hate this pixelgraphics...i "owned" a 3do and i can say the graphic was much better than i have in the moment...so what to do???
thx
Logged
Paxtez
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 130


Joystick Jedi


View Profile
Re: Can't get fullscreen mode to work...
« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2003, 03:37:12 am »

Quote
what do i have to write in the target line to get better results -hate this pixelgraphics...i "owned" a 3do and i can say the graphic was much better



Well the graphics wern't much better, the problem is that your tv has a much smaller resalution then your computer, and the pixels were much bigger, but the main differance is distance.  People usally sit 1-2 feet from thier computer, whereas with thier tv they sit like 8 or so.  Try go 1-2 feet from the tv and see how bad everything looks =).

But you can add --scale=biadv to the command line to make the graphics look better, but its pretty intensive on your computer and your computer might not be able to handle it.
Logged

....Paxtez....
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!