The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 27, 2022, 04:16:28 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Celebrating 30 years of Star Control 2 - The Ur-Quan Masters

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Technical Issues (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Lander Glitch :)
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Lander Glitch :)  (Read 2232 times)
Chmmr
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25



View Profile
Lander Glitch :)
« on: June 14, 2006, 01:53:53 pm »

Not in this version eh? lol
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Lander Glitch :)
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2006, 03:42:13 pm »

Not in this version eh? lol
Nope. Some of the later PC versions even had this fixed.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
StarController
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6



View Profile
Re: Lander Glitch :)
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2006, 01:18:02 am »

I would vote to actually put that glitch back in..... for historical accuracy.  Not having it is like not being able to dupe items in Diablo... it just wouldn't be right. 
--StarController
Logged
Anthony
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 358


Star Control Lives!


View Profile WWW
Re: Lander Glitch :)
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2006, 04:13:31 am »

Yeah, that would be a nice feature to put on.  Maybe an option in the game settings... I could experiment around super powered weapons and fleets of ships.. Cheesy
Logged

Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Lander Glitch :)
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2006, 08:50:04 am »

When the goal is (as far as gameplay is concerned) an accurate reproduction of the original, bugs like this one are a bit of a problem. On the one hand, you don't want to change anything related to gameplay. On the other, a bug like the lander bug is obviously inadvertent.

The UQM team's approach to Slylandro Probes in solar systems (fix it so they do appear, despite the PC and 3DO versions lacking this) suggests a policy of getting the game to work as TFB wanted at the time, not the way it really works. This, in part, justifies using the 3DO version where the PC and 3DO version differ (although the missing voice data seems to be a case of problems making the 3DO version).

I don't feel the lander bug adds anything to the game; it just allows unlimited resources. I suppose it could have a certain nostalgic value to those who've actually used it, but it's essentially an unlimited RU cheat and should IMHO be treated as such.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Chmmr
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25



View Profile
Re: Lander Glitch :)
« Reply #5 on: June 19, 2006, 11:34:42 am »

I'd like to have it as an option in the game. But perhaps if you had to get to a certain point in the game or something
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!