The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 10, 2022, 03:27:56 am
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General UQM Discussion (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  StarControl 2 and Virtual PC
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: StarControl 2 and Virtual PC  (Read 1888 times)
nightshadow
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 64


The PT-Masters are coming...


View Profile
StarControl 2 and Virtual PC
« on: April 17, 2003, 05:11:16 pm »

Hi,

I know I am a bit off topic here, but since this is "the place" to discuss Star Control issues nowadays , and where I can find the most experienced gamers, I'll give it a try.

I am using Conectix Virtual PC, and I am trying to get Star Control 2 runing with sound (Under MS-DOS).

The game plays ok, but... no sound at all.

Other games work ok with sound.

I have already tried to install the original Sound Blaster drivers but they fail to recognize the card.

Any toughts ?

Thanks.

Note : Please feel free to eliminate this post if you feel it is inapropriate.
Logged

Best regards,
Night Shadow
seankreynolds
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 39


Lovin' the game


View Profile WWW
Re: StarControl 2 and Virtual PC
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2003, 11:46:32 pm »

I wasn't even able to get it to run well (Hyperspace is _so_ jerky, and I don't even want to think about combat) so I never bothered trying to figure out the sound problem. Any reason you haven't just downloaded the interim Mac version?
Logged

nightshadow
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 64


The PT-Masters are coming...


View Profile
Re: StarControl 2 and Virtual PC
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2003, 03:45:58 am »

Uh... I am using the PC version of Virtual PC (Running on a Windows XP machine) Grin

Thats why I haven't tried the Mac version (because I don't have a Mac).

Thanks for the advice anyway.

Logged

Best regards,
Night Shadow
chmmravatar
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 109


WHAT IS DONE IS DONE


View Profile
Re: StarControl 2 and Virtual PC
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2003, 05:28:29 am »

So why not run the windows version of UQM? Anyhow, the only dos emulator I've ever had that ran it well was dosemu for linux. That runs the original sc2 perfectly, with sound and everything. There is also dosbox for windows, but that only runs it so-so (for me, even when I turn up the number of cycles really high, the game slows down a lot in hyperspace and during battles). BTW, if you haven't already, you may want to try the /s:sblaster option...
Logged
seankreynolds
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 39


Lovin' the game


View Profile WWW
Re: StarControl 2 and Virtual PC
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2003, 01:13:32 am »

Quote
Uh... I am using the PC version of Virtual PC (Running on a Windows XP machine) Grin


Ah, ya didn't say that before (Connetix also has a Mac version of Virtual PC...). Smiley
Logged

Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!