The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 19, 2019, 08:45:48 am
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Technical Issues (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  "resolving host name error"
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: "resolving host name error"  (Read 4383 times)
atuhalpa
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6



View Profile
"resolving host name error"
« on: January 09, 2006, 07:37:32 am »

When I try to install the game from my cd drive I get a "resolving hostname" error.  I followed the directions to the "T", even putting all the downloads in the same folder, and installer 0.4.0 still gives me this error. I burned the copy at a friends because I have an extremely slow connection.
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: "resolving host name error"
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2006, 09:38:58 am »

Is your Internet connection active when you try to install? It seems the installer is still trying to access the Internet and failing.

Have you properly selected the correct directory as the installation source?
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: "resolving host name error"
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2006, 04:26:06 pm »

Run the installer with the directory containing the downloaded packages as the working directory.
Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
atuhalpa
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6



View Profile
Re: "resolving host name error"
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2006, 06:29:22 pm »

Explain "working directory" please.........................
Logged
Krulle
Enlightened
*****
Online Online

Gender: Male
Posts: 1014


*Hurghi*! Krulle is *spitting* again!


View Profile
Re: "resolving host name error"
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2006, 06:41:34 pm »

Best do it (if you're trying the windows version, that is) by starting command
(WIN+R; wait for pop-up window, then command [Enter])
then switching to the install directory using old DOS commands
(e.g. D: for CD-drive, D being the letter of the CD-Drive; then
CD thedirwherefiles/are/burned/to [Enter]
uqm-0.4.0-win32-installer.exe [Enter] being the name of the installer file)
In windows using the explorer you are looking at one directory, but the active one is another one.

Just as a comment,
 enjoy!
Krulle
« Last Edit: January 09, 2006, 06:51:12 pm by Krulle » Logged
atuhalpa
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6



View Profile
Re: "resolving host name error"
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2006, 04:43:03 am »

C'mon guys I am following all the prompts and selecting the right directories. The problem is in the installer. Have any of you people making suggestions actually installed the game from a folder on your computer? I get a resolving host name error no matter what I do, or if I am connected to the internet it starts downloading the files.
Logged
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: "resolving host name error"
« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2006, 04:48:30 am »

From the instructions Krulle gave you, after the "CD" command, do a "DIR" and paste the output here. Then perhaps we can see what is wrong.
Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
DwD
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 21


ancay ouyay eakspay igpay atinlay?


View Profile
Re: "resolving host name error"
« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2006, 12:47:32 pm »

Ok, it looked pretty straight forward to me.  Start the installer, at some point, it will ask you for a directory where you may have pre-downloaded content.  Either browse to, or key in your location.

If it won't look for these files on your CD, try copying the whole thing to your HD.
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!