The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 27, 2022, 04:33:03 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Celebrating 30 years of Star Control 2 - The Ur-Quan Masters

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Starbase Café (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  UQM On Mac & Windows
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: UQM On Mac & Windows  (Read 2332 times)
Kohr-Ah Death
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1366



View Profile WWW
UQM On Mac & Windows
« on: December 12, 2006, 12:35:46 am »

This was kinda hard to setup, but in the end it works pretty good.

http://img215.imageshack.us/img215/6562/uqmmacwinzj1.png
« Last Edit: December 12, 2006, 12:37:56 am by Kohr-Ah Death » Logged

The artist once again known as Kohr-Ah Death.

Get your MegaMod HERE
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: UQM On Mac & Windows
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2006, 09:46:59 am »

For bonus geek points, run a network game between the emulated Mac version and the Windows version. Grin
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: UQM On Mac & Windows
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2006, 02:10:10 pm »

I once did the same thing with the PC version of SC2, the 3DO version of SC2, and UQM. See here.
Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
Kohr-Ah Death
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1366



View Profile WWW
Re: UQM On Mac & Windows
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2006, 03:45:48 am »

For bonus geek points, run a network game between the emulated Mac version and the Windows version. Grin
that shouldn't be too hard, the only hard part is proving it, in the end i'll have the same screenshot for both UQM's.

and the problem i have is that i'd have to build the netplay version of uqm on the mac, and i still havent figured out the entire process, i'm guessing i could use the terminal but then i don't have any GNU C compilers to run.

And i don't even want to touch Xcode, i thought Visual studio was complicated. Roll Eyes

I once did the same thing with the PC version of SC2, the 3DO version of SC2, and UQM. See here.


thats pretty cool, on that note,
how easy would it be to 're-implement' the 3DO menu screen?
I'm finding myself wanting the full original 3DO experience, without the bad output and halfsized resolution  Grin
« Last Edit: December 13, 2006, 03:51:31 am by Kohr-Ah Death » Logged

The artist once again known as Kohr-Ah Death.

Get your MegaMod HERE
Death 999
Global Moderator
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3868


We did. You did. Yes we can. No.


View Profile
Re: UQM On Mac & Windows
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2007, 07:36:04 pm »

You could 'prove' it by laying out kohr-ah minefields in a hard-to-mimic pattern. And don't have them at the same screen resolution. Still fakeable, but tougher.
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: UQM On Mac & Windows
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2007, 08:25:29 pm »

A few other ways to get two different screen shots from the same network game:
  • Use different zooming styles (PC/3DO) on the two UQM instances (hard to fake exactly)
  • Swap top and bottom players (easy to fake)
  • Use different graphics filters (easy to fake if you can run those filters in an external program)
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!